Asian Championships Stat Blitz, Day 1
(from K. Ken Nakamura)

Day 1

The winning height of 5.60m in men's PV ties highest PV on the Indian soil. 
Sergey Bubka in 1993 in New Delhi, Steve Hooker in 2010 CWG also vaulted 5.60

For the first time since 1993, JPN men's PV failed to win a medal

The winning time, 32:17.29, is the fastest women's 10000m time on the Indian soil. 
Previous fastest women's 10000m on the Indian soil was 32:32.44 by Doris Changeiywo from 2007

Shitaye Eshete became first NON-CHN to win Women's 10000m twice
Previously Bai Xue, Wang Junxia, Zhong Huandi (all CHN) won W10000m twice at the Asian Championships

For women's 10000m, the best marks for place for third (32:47.44) was set. 
Previous best third place was 32:48.05 from 1998

Sachiko Masumi won first gold for JPN since 1979 in Women's LJ

The winning distance of 55.88m in Women's DT is the shortest winning throw since 1983 when 53.00m won

In the women's DT CHN won gold and silver for the five consecutive Asian championships

Om Prakash Singh, 2009 champion at Men's SP won two consecutive bronze medal

SULTAN ABDULMAJEED became the fourth (first Non-CHN) Men's SP to win both Asian Games and Asian Championships. 
He won 2006 and 2010 Asian Games

SULTAN ABDULMAJEED won the first gold for KSA in MSP 

In Men's SP Best marks for 4th (19.31 by Singh) and 5th (18.94 by Wang) were set. 
Previous best was 19.07 for 4th and 18.89 for 5th