I was only one year old when this rule changed and not keeping up with T&F rule changes. In the intervening eighty-one years, in about seventy of which I was involved in T&F, I had never heard of the rule that the entire body had to cross the line. The rules as quoted above differ only in the word "reach" and "crosses."
I wonder if we are dealing in semantics? There is not enought information there to indicate to me that the entire body must cross a 2" wide line.
If "any part of the torso "crosses the finish line", would that not mean, at a maximum, that only the depth of torso equal to the width of the finish line must cross the line?.
Is the finish line not the near edge of the marking? By this reading, if a single mm of the torso "crosses" the finish line, the race is over.
As difficult as it is sometimes to determine which torso reaches the finish line first, I cannot think how you could visually judge which torso completely crossed first.
What am I missing here?.