DoubleRBar wrote:Someone may have already mentioned this about the Mexico City long jump. After the first three rounds, Lynn Davies and Andrzej Stalmach (Poland) were tied at 7.94. The officials mistakenly did not give Davies three more jumps.
From the results that I see, after 3 rounds Stalmach was in 8th place and Davies in 9th, based on their 2nd best jumps (Stalmach 7.88 v. Davies 6.43). Some people call looking at 2nd best marks as tie-breaking, but the present IAAF rule book is clear that looking at 2nd best marks, and 3rd, etc., is to be performed before the declaration of a tie.
But ... you are probably correct that the rules at the time should have given Davies 3 additional jumps, as I believe that the inclusion of the 2nd best mark, etc., was not part of the process of determining the "Top 8 athletes" at that time, similar to the mHT situation in the Atlanta Olympics. The rules have since changed. Thus, the moniker: "The Lance Deal Rule".