HS athletes on T&FN cover

Forum devoted to track & field items of an historical nature.

HS athletes on T&FN cover

Postby BillVol » Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:35 am

How many have been on the cover through the years? Mary Cain and Alan Webb come to mind. And should they be put on the cover? Does this help create too much pressure on these kids? I remember that for years, Sports Illustrated had only one or two prep athletes on its cover in the history of the magazine. One was Tom McMillen. Anyhow, I just hate to put these kids under too much pressure. Maybe they don't look at it as pressure at all, though. Jordan Hasay seems to be a fine person who has had way too many expectations put upon her. Don't know if she was on the cover as a prep.
BillVol

Re: HS athletes on T&FN cover

Postby bambam » Fri Mar 01, 2013 11:07 am

Great story re the SI Tom McMillen cover. When I was a freshman at Duke (1969-70), there was one other freshman on the golf team with me - Greg Wall. Greg was the son of Art Wall, Duke '50, long-time PGA Tour player, and winner of the 1959 Masters. In the spring of 1970 when that McMillen cover came out, I was sitting in the Dope Shop (a Duke eating fixture in that era - no longer exists), grabbing a bite, when Greg came running up to me, holding SI, all excited and asked if I had seen his picture on the cover of SI. I thought he was nuts, but there he was. The picture of McMillen shows him going up for a lay-up in a high-school game, guarded by ... Greg Wall (Greg was about 6-4), who was making a futile attempt to block the shot. Greg's face is clearly seen and there is no doubt it was him.

Answers another trivia question, although there are certainly others - fathers and sons to appear on the SI cover - Art and Greg Wall (Art was on before the 1960 Masters).
bambam

Postby mcgato » Fri Mar 01, 2013 11:50 am

Good story bambam.

I looked back over the TFN cover archive (I stopped looking around the mid 70s), and I found these:
Oct 11: Arman Hall